Posted by: Chris Avery | August 28, 2012

Half Full or Half Empty

Half Full or half empty. Optimist or pessimist. How about a different perspective on the cup? One for which I can take no credit as I’ve heard it a couple times before, most recently in A Gospel Primer by Milton Vincent.

As someone who has violated God’s commands, disobeyed Him in countless ways, and sought to overthrow His throne to make my will supreme, I deserve His wrath. Not a slap on the wrist, but the full unbridled wrath of God. Several times throughout the Bible God’s wrath is described as a cup. It is of this cup that Jesus asked, “My Father, if it is possible, let this cup pass from Me; yet not as I will, but as You will.” When Jesus took my punishment on the cross, He drank the cup of God’s wrath. He drank every last drop. He then proclaimed, “It is finished.” With that, He paid for every sin that is on my account. As someone who has repented and trusted in Jesus’ work on my behalf, I no longer have to worry about the wrath of God. How amazing this is! Praise be to God! The cup is EMPTY!

This isn’t the end of the story though. What if God were to take that empty cup and fill it with blessings. Perhaps even just one drop in the bottom of the cup would be unbelievable. Having gone from the full wrath of God to an empty cup would be more than enough to cause me to praise Him for the rest of my life. God did not just give me an empty cup, nor did He put a little blessing in the bottom. He has filled up the cup with His blessings and it is overflowing.

He has blessed me with every spiritual blessing in the heavens.

He withholds no good gift from me.

Every good thing given and every perfect gift is from above.

This is reason to praise God.

I pray that I will always remember and be thankful for what I’ve been given through the mercy and grace of God. May it lead to praise and a desire for His name to be great among the nations.

Leave a Reply

Categories

