Posted by: Chris Avery | August 18, 2012

Stewardship Quotes

God has entrusted us with possessions, time, talents, gifts. He didn’t give them to us primarily for our own good, but for His glory and the good of others. We have to remember that we are stewards of what God has entrusted us with, and we don’t truly own anything.

“He is no fool who gives up that which he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose.” Jim Elliot

You must transfer the ownership of all that you are and all that you have to all that He is… Your life is no longer your life, it is now His life. Your time is no longer your time, it is now His time. Your possessions are no longer your possessions, they are now His possessions. Your future is no longer your future, it is now His future. Your treasure is no longer your treasure, it is now His treasure. And you have transferred all that you are and all that you have to all that He is. – Steve Lawson

“If God would grant us the vision, the word sacrifice would disappear from our lips and thoughts; we would hate the things that seem now so dear to us; our lives would suddenly be too short, we would despise time-robbing distractions and charge the enemy with all our energies in the name of Christ.” – Nate Saint

“We are often hindered from giving up our treasures to the Lord out of fear for their safety. But we need to have no such fears. Our Lord came not to destroy but to save. Everything is safe which is committed to Him, and nothing is really safe which is not so committed.” – A.W. Tozer

“All who call on God in true faith, earnestly from the heart, will certainly be heard, and will receive what they have asked and desired, although not in the hour or in the measure, or the very thing which they ask. Yet they will obtain something greater and more glorious than they had dared to ask.” – Martin Luther

I have held many things in my hands, and I have lost them all;
but whatever I have placed in God’s hands, that I still possess.

Martin Luther

Thou that has given so much to me,
Give one thing more–a grateful heart;
Not thankful when it pleaseth me,
As if thy blessings had spare days;
But such a heart, whose pulse may be
Thy praise. – George Herbert

The enjoyment of God is the only happiness with which our souls can be satisfied. To go to heaven, fully to enjoy God, is infinitely better than the most pleasant accommodations here. Fathers and mothers, husbands, wives, or children, or the company of earthly friends, are but shadows; but God is the substance. These are but scattered beams, but God is the sun. These are but streams. But God is the ocean. Therefore it becomes us to spend this life only as a journey toward heaven, as it becomes us to make the seeking of our highest end and proper good, the whole work of our lives; to which we should subordinate all other concerns of life. Why should we labor for, or set our hearts on, anything else, but that which is our proper end, and true happiness? -Jonathan Edwards

“If your heart takes more pleasure in reading novels, or watching TV, or going to the movies, or talking to friends, rather than just sitting alone with God and embracing Him, sharing His cares and His burdens, weeping and rejoicing with Him, then how are you going to handle forever and ever in His presence…? You’d be bored to tears in heaven, if you’re not ecstatic about God now!” ~ Keith Green

“God’s ownership of everything also changes the kind of question we ask in giving. Rather than, ‘How much of my money should I give to God?’ We learn to ask, ‘How much of God’s money should I keep for myself?’ The difference between these two questions is of monumental proportions.” Richard Foster

“We are merely stewards of God’s property while we are on earth. He can choose to entrust us with as much or as little as He desires, but in no case will we ever take ownership.” Larry Burkett

“Each of us is entrusted with a particular set of created gifts and good things we have been given in this life. Each of us is responsible for how these gifts are used; we will someday have to give our own account. The stewardship ideal urges each Christian disciple to acknowledge what he or she has received by being ready to return these gifts to God through Jesus Christ. Return is expressed in willingness to use one’s time, talent and treasure to advance the Kingdom of God.” Patrick H. McNamara

“He who has God and everything has no more than he who has God alone.” C.S. Lewis

Lord, help me to glorify you;
I am poor, help me to glorify you by contentment;
I am sick, help me to give you honor by patience;
I have talents, help me to extol you by spending them for you;
I have time, Lord, help me to redeem it, that I may serve you;

I have a heart to feel, Lord,
let that heart feel no love but yours,
and glow with no flame but affection for you;

I have a head to think,
Lord, help me to think of you and for you;

You have put me in this world for something, Lord,
show me what that is,
and help me to work out my life-purpose:

I cannot do much, but as the widow put in her two mites,
which were all her living,
so, Lord, I cast my time and eternity too into your treasury;

I am all yours;
take me, and enable me to glorify you now,
in all that I say, in all that I do, and with all that I have.

-Charles Spurgeon

Leave a Reply

Categories

