Posted by: Chris Avery | July 13, 2009

Shepherding the Flock and Pastoral Visitation

I actually heard this referenced on Wretched Radio several months ago (2/17 hour 2). I was amazed that I was able to find it again. Pastoral Visitation Article & Checklist

As you can probably see in a lot of my posts I have seen how important it is to actually look at the Bible and see what a Christian is. Paul Washer was one of the first I heard that said to examine myself. He made me realize I was comparing myself to others and not to God’s standard. He also told me that you won’t find, “You can’t judge a book by its cover” in the Bible. It actually says, “You will know them by their fruit.” I’ve had both Paul Washer and Todd Friel take me through 1 John and the evidences/characteristics of a Christian.

So many people have “accepted Jesus in their heart” or “prayed a prayer”. I would be one who was baptized as a child and lived a moral life, at least in comparision to my peers. I always knew Jesus Christ died so I could go to heaven. There was actually something missing in my life called the new birth or regeneration. Was there ever a time in your life when you hated the evil things you once loved and now loved the God that you have either hated or ignored?

Sorry for the personal reflections. Too many believe themselves to be Christians because they agree in their mind that Jesus died. Perhaps I will devote an article to this topic sometime.

Pastors and elders, it might make them a little uncomfortable but you should be making sure that your flock is saved, growing in the faith, loving God rather than the world. If you don’t feel it is your job to do this because you are not their judge, at least ask them to examine themselves to be sure they are in the faith.

Leave a Reply

Categories

