Posted by: Chris Avery | April 14, 2009

I Know Not, I Care Not; Am I His Keeper?

I recently heard Mark Dever quote from these words by Edward Payson

We profess to believe the word of God; but can you all prove that you believe it ? Do you all act, as if you believed it? What, believe that many of your acquaintances, your children, are in danger of the fate, which has now been described ! Dare you go to God, and say, Lord, I believe thy word, I believe that all thy threatenings will be fulfilled, and then turn away, and coolly pursue your worldly business, without uttering one agonizing cry for those, who are exposed to these threatnings ? Dare you go and claim relationship to Christ, and profess to have his Spirit, without which you are none of his, and then make no effort, or only a few faint efforts, to save those, for whom he shed not tears only, but blood.  O, if you can do this, where are the bowels, I will not say of a Christian, but a man ? Go, I may say to such, go, inconsistent, cruel, hard-hearted professors ; go, slumber over the ruin of immortal souls; wrap yourself up in your selfish temporal interests, and say, I have no time to spare for rescuing others from everlasting burnings. Go, wear out your life in acquiring property for your children, and leave their souls to perish in the fire that never shall be quenched. Go, adorn their bodies, and banish from them, if possible, the seeds of disease; but leave in their bosoms that immortal worm, which will gnaw them forever. And when God asks, where is thy child ? thy brother ? thy friend? reply, with impious Cain, I know not, I care not: am I his keeper’?

Leave a Reply

Categories

