Posted by: Chris Avery | August 14, 2008

Focus for the Day

I’ve decided that I will try my best to live out a certain verse each day. Instead of making multiple posts, I’m just going to edit this one.

August 13

I’ve felt really unmotivated at work lately so I thought I’d start with this one.

Colossians 3

 22Slaves, in all things obey those who are your masters on earth, not with external service, as those who merely please men, but with sincerity of heart, fearing the Lord.

 23Whatever you do, do your work heartily, as for the Lord rather than for men,

 24knowing that from the Lord you will receive the reward of the inheritance It is the Lord Christ whom you serve.

I was a lot more productive today than I had been. I seemed to be friendlier with the customers as well. A pretty good start. I hope it continues. I have the day off tomorrow and don’t know what to pick as I won’t be in much contact with people. I’m guessing something in the Proverbs about not being a sluggard.

August 14

Proverbs 6:9-11

9How long will you lie down, O sluggard?
         When will you arise from your sleep?
    10“A little sleep, a little slumber,
         A little folding of the hands to rest”–
    11Your poverty will come in like a vagabond
         And your need like an armed man.

I don’t think I did that well on this.

August15

Luke 14:12-14

 12And He also went on to say to the one who had invited Him, “When you give a luncheon or a dinner, do not invite your friends or your brothers or your relatives or rich neighbors, otherwise they may also invite you in return and that will be your repayment.

 13“But when you give a reception, invite the poor, the crippled, the lame, the blind,

 14and you will be blessed, since they do not have the means to repay you; for you will be repaid at the resurrection of the righteous.”

I don’t think I’ll be having any dinner receptions at work… but I’ll try to help out others as I can, but at the very least meditate on the principlal.

Responses

  1. I need to apply Colossians 3:23 to my work life as well. Thanks for the reminder


Leave a Reply

Categories

