Posted by: Chris Avery | June 6, 2008

Longing to Glorify God

This is my entry for a Prince Caspian writing contest. I probably shouldn’t have waited until the last minute to do it.
The prompt is Longing for Joy…

Caspian longs for a land and time he has never seen. What longing drives you? What surprises or disappointments might you face in your search?

 

Longing to Glorify God

I am longing to live a life that glorifies God. This doesn’t mean that I wear a cross or wear Christian T-shirts. I should glorify God by the way that I live my life. This will affect every decision I make and require some sacrifices.
In Mark 8 Jesus says, “”If anyone wishes to come after Me, he must deny himself, and take up his cross and follow Me.” Romans 12 reads, “Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, so that you may prove what the will of God is, that which is good and acceptable and perfect.” From these verses we see that being a Christian isn’t just a part of our lives. It is something that we devote our whole life to being.
Most of God’s commandments involve the familiar “You shall not…” I used to think I did pretty well with these until I read Jesus’ words that say even our thoughts are sins. Even harder than this is the things that I “should do.” I should be praying, helping my neighbors, and putting others before myself.
My biggest problem is that I don’t even tell other people about what God has done for me. God has forgiven a wicked sinner who deserves to be punished for all his sins. He knew that I would be selfish, disobedient, have bad thoughts, steal, lie, and covet. Knowing all of this in advance, He sent his son Jesus to take the punishment for my sins. First, I must repent. This means to apologize for all the sins I have committed against Him and in the future avoid doing them. Second, I must put my trust in Jesus as my only hope. Only through His sacrifice can anyone be saved. With so great a salvation, shouldn’t I tell others about this wonderful offer? It’s not enough for me to act this way; I must tell people why I act this way. It is because of God’s mercy that I will give my life to serve Him and others. I agree with what John Piper says, “God is most glorified in us when we are most satisfied in Him.”
There will be many difficulties if I live my life for God. Jesus also said that if they persecuted Him, they would persecute His followers. The biggest disappointments are that I will not always get my way. Also, if I follow His leading, there is no telling what surprises may come my way. I long to glorify God because He has given me everything: life, air, food, friends, and an eternity to enjoy Him in heaven.

Leave a Reply

Categories

