Posted by: Chris Avery | May 24, 2008

Grumbling

Lately, I catch myself complaining about things. In my relationships I feel like it’s a 90-10. I don’t often show it outwardly, but on the inside I’m complaining a lot. My call from God to be a servant and humble is something that I’ve noticed I’m not doing that great in lately. Sometimes I wish for Earthly justice/rewards. I feel like I do a lot more than other people and I don’t get anything for it. It just means I’m working a lot harder and making other people’s lives easier. I thought about it last night and realized that I won’t ask God to give me an easier life. It can be stressful at times, but I know that God will use it to help me grow.

Then I think of verses like those in Luke 6

27“But I tell you who hear me: Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, 28bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you. 29If someone strikes you on one cheek, turn to him the other also. If someone takes your cloak, do not stop him from taking your tunic. 30Give to everyone who asks you, and if anyone takes what belongs to you, do not demand it back. 31Do to others as you would have them do to you.

    32“If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ love those who love them. 33And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ do that. 34And if you lend to those from whom you expect repayment, what credit is that to you? Even ‘sinners’ lend to ‘sinners,’ expecting to be repaid in full. 35But love your enemies, do good to them, and lend to them without expecting to get anything back. Then your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High, because he is kind to the ungrateful and wicked. 36Be merciful, just as your Father is merciful.

My main focus can be summed up in And if you do good to those who are good to you, what credit is that to you?”

It is much easier for me to help other Christians, especially when they encourage and help me. On the other hand, I will probably help someone else (even when they’re a burden to me) but after I help them so many times I wish they would start to do something for themselves and not make me do everything for them.

I kind of think of it like welfare. Some people genuinely need it. Others take advantage of the system. We should certainly help people, but doing everything for them doesn’t really help them in the end. They’re just dependent on handouts. On the other hand, if we were to help them find a job and get them the skill they need that would be much better.

Please pray that I will grow in this area and feel free to tell me about your own experiences. 

Leave a Reply

Categories

