Posted by: Chris Avery | May 22, 2008

What is diakoneo?

I had trouble finding a good name that wasn’t already taken for my blog. After trying many of my great ideas I decided that I would try some Greek words.  I found a website that I could type in the English and find the Greek words used for it. I was trying to find words like encourage, urge, or admonish. I like verses like

Romans 12:1

Therefore I urge you, brethren, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies a living and holy sacrifice, acceptable to God, which is your spiritual service of worship.

2 Timothy 4:2

Preach the Word; be prepared in season and out of season; correct, rebuke and encourage—with great patience and careful instruction.

Hebrews 3:13

But encourage one another day after day, as long as it is still called “Today ,” so that none of you will be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin.

The word used in these is parakaleo.

Noutheteo means to admonish and is the word used in

Colossians 1:28

We proclaim Him, admonishing every man and teaching every man with all wisdom, so that we may present every man complete in Christ.

Colossians 3:16

Let the word of Christ richly dwell within you, with all wisdom teaching and admonishing one another with psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with thankfulness in your hearts to God.

Doulos is a word I had heard from John MacArthur in a sermon called Revolutionary Life of a Slave To Christ. He discussed how the word has been interpreted in English mostly as servant even though in the best lexicons it is always interpreted as slave.
It is used in

Romans 1:1

Paul, a servant of Christ Jesus, called to be an apostle and set apart for the gospel of God—

I then discovered the word diakoneo. A simple definition would be serve or minister. I hope to do that with my blogs. I’ll probably be posting a lot of videos and links to sermons that I’ve enjoyed and I hope that they will encourage or convict you or be of some benefit in your walk with God. Some examples include

Mark 10:45

“For even the Son of Man did not come to be served, but to serve, and to give His life a ransom for many .”

Luke 22:26

“But it is not this way with you, but the one who is the greatest among you must become like the youngest, and the leader like the servant.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

